Went “outside” for Christmas

 

colorful glass mosaic

Visiting family for Christmas

Saturday, December 13, 1980–got up early to get ready to go “outside” to Minnesota. Got all packed and started in Dan’s van. It was -45° and the wind was blowing the snow. It’s not fun driving around on mountain roads in these conditions, but we got into Anchorage in time to catch the plane. The airline had to deplane two people who were giving trouble to the crew, so we were late taking off. We had quick connections in Seattle and arrived in Los Angeles and my mother was there to meet us. Our luggage was lost.

Sunday, December 14, 1980—our luggage was delivered to us before bedtime. Having a nice visit with Mother, but I’m getting sleepy as I write this.

Monday, December 15, 1980—slept late and went to the VA park to see the plaque mother’s chapter of the DAR had presented—it’s very nice, liked the looks of it there. We did some shopping.

Tuesday, December 16, 1980—we said goodbye to Mother, left Los Angeles, and arrived in Minneapolis late and went to Nadia’s home.

 Wednesday, December 17, 1980—we called the FLBA office in St Cloud and set up an appointment to meet with those people.

Friday, December 19, 1980—we went over to Beverly’s and visited with her. Theresa’s family came over and we had a really good time visiting with them.

Saturday, December 20, 1980—we went to the Nutcracker Fantasy—beautiful symphony music and all that goes with it as guests of Nadia and Darrell.

Sunday, December 21, 1980—good time here at Nadia’s. Went to a program at their church.

Monday, December 22, 1980—met with FLBA in St Cloud and did business with them.

Tuesday, December 23, 1980—talked to the FHA in Brainerd and the lawyer in Staples, working at getting our business here in Minnesota squared around.

Wednesday, December 24, 1980—took care of farm business in the morning and then on to Minneapolis in the afternoon. Visited with Kevin’s family in the evening.

Thursday, December 25, 1980—they had a Christmas dinner here at Nadia and Darrell’s. She has a beautiful large table and everything was so nice. My gifts were shirts and books. They were really nice—I read lots of books and of course, wear lots of shirts.

Friday, December 26, 1980—took a short walk. Up early every day and we did a lot of visiting with Nadia and Darrell.

Saturday, December 27, 1980—we went over to Paul and Ruth’s and spent time with them.

Sunday, December 28, 1980—we’re having a good time here at Paul and Ruth’s and went to REI and shopped there.

Monday, December 29, 1980—drove up to Motley to stay with Roger and Bridgette.

Tuesday, December 30, 1980—had some farm business in the evening and we found out Bridgette’s mother had died.

Wednesday, December 31, 1980—we did some farm business. Ernie H.and I butchered two lambs and I took them in to the locker plant in Staples.

Thursday, January 1, 1981—didn’t do much all day, up late last night at a party.

Friday, January 2, 1981—I was a pall bearer for Donna Hendricks (Bridgette’s mother). After the funeral we went to see Russell Shequen at the Staples hospital.

Saturday, January 3, 1981—ran all over doing farm business.

Sunday, January 4, 1981—hurried around to go to Minneapolis. Roger and Bridgette (with their son Randy) are driving us down to Minneapolis. There we saw most of our children and will stay at Theresa’s place now.

Monday, January 5, 1981—slept late here at Theresa and Earl’s and played with the grand kids.

Tuesday, January 6, 1981—went over to Nadia and Darrell’s where we enjoyed a good supper. Kevin and Beverly came over and we got to visit with them too.

Wednesday, January 7, 1981—got on the plane about 10:00 a.m. to go to Anchorage. We arrived there 12 hours later and got home at 12 p.m.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s